Wk #10: Art Experience – Fiber Social Network

I think Social Network applies to anyone who has had some sort of interaction in your life. The people in my social network are real life physical friends, mainly because I haven’t met anyone online who I haven’t met in person. Dunbar’s Number “is a suggested cognitive limit to the number of people with whom one can maintain stable social relationships. These are relationships in which an individual knows who each person is and how each person related to every other person.” 150 truly meaningful relationships seems like a stretch to me. Personally, I am perfectly happy with about 10 friends. As long as they are genuine and aren’t the ones that just uses me.

People who have 1,000 Facebook friends probably don’t talk to 500 of them. I have a little over 700 friends, and I only talk to a handful on a daily basis. A lot of the people on my friends list are people from high school, Red Cross, Badminton team, and a leadership camp, and American Language Institute (where I currently work). I really like staying connected with friends from different countries because it’s a way that I can see what’s going on in their life without having to talk to them everyday.

After doing the Art110 Social Network, I realized how connected other people are with one another. I saw a few black and white strings, but the majority of the yarn were red. I attempted to make another social network with my circle of friends.

img_4634-1

img_4602

Leave a Reply

