Wk #8: Art Experience – Sketching in the Garden

Although I like to draw and sketch, I am not good at it. This week we went to the CSULB Japanese Garden as a class to sketch anything in the garden. This is my second time at this garden, the first was when I went on a field trip in elementary school. I was really looking forward to going back again. I decided to draw a tree for my first sketch. I began by drawing the leaves. I realized that they were too big, so I started making smaller ones, but keeping the original big leaves. I really liked this assignment because I really had to slow down and really reflect. For my second image, I decided to look into the pond for inspiration. I saw the water rippling and decided my second sketch would be of the movement of water. After a few sketches, I realized it looked like an eyeball. I thought it was funny, so I kept it. My last sketch is of a duck. It looked really calm and peaceful as it was sleeping. The hardest thing about this assignment was the fact that I couldn’t erase. Although it suppose to be something fun, I think it really hindered my ability to take risks because I knew I couldn’t erase, so I didn’t want to do anything drastic. Overall, it was a fun experience and I really enjoyed sketching at the Japanese garden, especially because it wasn’t hot.

After taking the photo of my sketchbook and the tree, I realized that there is a random guy running in the back. Haha

Leave a Reply

