Wk #7: Artist Conversation – Dulce Soledad Ibarra

Exhibition Information

Artist: Dulce Soledad Ibarra

Exhibition: Manos De Oro

Media: Sculpture, Videography, Mixed-Media Installation

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov East

Web:http://www.dulcesoledadibarra.com/

Instagram: n/a

 

About the Artist

Dulce Soledad Ibarra is a Mexican American artist from Chino, California. She is a senior working towards her BFA. She received her AA at Chaffey College, and will graduate this Spring at California State University, Long Beach.

Formal/Content Analysis

Her idea was inspired by her father. She says that it’s “a reminder that all hands are made of gold, but some hands are left invisible under the sun, covered in grease and the greenery.” She used various parts of a lawn mower and covered it in gold leaf foil. She layered the foils onto each piece. Some of the items used in her installation include the lawn mower, engine of the mower, shovel, garden scissors, pruning shears and piles of grass spilling from bags. This was such a moving piece for her father that he cried when he first saw her installation. I realized how important this subject is to her because this is father’s occupation. Similarly, she compared her installation to jewelry, like a gold necklace. While some may see value in jewelry, others (like Ibarra and her father) see value in lawn mowing. 

Synthesis/ My experience

I thought there was a lot of juxtaposition with her installation. I visited the art galleries midday on Wednesday. It was really hot outside, but the moment I went inside the Gatov-East Gallery, I was intrigued. The gallery felt cool and well ventilated as oppose to corresponding lawn mowing with the 100 degree weather outside. Looking around, I noticed a lawnmower with gold foil attached to it. It was interesting because I didn’t see lawn mowing as something valuable to me. Growing up, I used to help my grandpa mow the lawn and I thought it was the worst thing ever. It was always hot and such a time-consuming process. It was always really difficult to get every single piece of grass into the trash bags. So it was really interesting to see how inspiring lawn mowing is to someone, when I didn’t see it as value before. I corresponded lawn mowing with negative thoughts because it didn’t make me happy, but after looking at Ibarra’s installation and listening to her talk about it then I realized that it’s not that bad. I also really liked how she added gold foil to all of the tools.

 

Leave a Reply

